Why Can’t I Just “Control-Z” Parts of My Life?

hand_pose_17_of_22___stock_by_aphasia100stockThe other day I was drawing a diagram on the whiteboard to explain something to a friend. I was in the heat of explanatory joy. At one point I changed my thinking and decided to re-do a part of the diagram, which meant that I would have to erase the bit I had just drawn.

Amazingly, I felt my hand assume the shape it takes when I am at the computer keyboard, getting ready to do a “control-Z”.

I looked at my hand and said, “Wow. Maybe I should spend less time at the keyboard.”

That primitive act of holding down the Control key and repeatedly hitting Z has become engrained in my mind. It has ventured from the abstract landscape of software tools and invaded parts of my brain that function in the analog world.

At the deepest neurological levels…does my brain really know the difference?

ctrl + zYou Can’t Control-Z The World

The desire to erase something and start over runs deep in our lives. We do it in many ways. Sometimes we try to erase a bad memory – or at least render it impotent by attempting to cover it with newer memories. (That often doesn’t work – have you noticed?)

Will the increasing virtuality of our lives add to this desire to just Control-Z our problems away?

………

Check out this awesome video:

Screen Shot 2016-04-23 at 12.40.12 PM

And this…

6841000_700b_v2

4 thoughts on “Why Can’t I Just “Control-Z” Parts of My Life?

  1. I just wrote a really long and insightful comment about your recent article. Can you guess what I did next?

  2. We call that The Full Sammy. Sorry, brother.

    Yeah, analog and digi thinking gets mixed across the synapses as we repurpose a function in this way to work here. Meh. I played Tetris for 8 hours straight back in 1989. Later that day I’m thinking: “If you just stood that car on its front bumper you could fit it right there.” I spent the rest of the weekend mentally fixing lost fence pickets, badly stacked dishes and untidy bookshelves.

  3. It’s the same principle as the “Tetris Effect” in which, after playing Tetris for an hour or so people often find themselves mentally fitting together everything they see – like cars, people, and trees!

    • I’ve only just read the post above mine. Haha! Maybe I saw it subconsciously as I scrolled down and that triggered my thought of the Tetris Effect. I swear I didn’t see Benerd’s comment until afterward. Coincidence? Subconscious response? Culture based similarity of thought associations? I need a cross-eyed smiley here: X.

Leave a Reply

